The Day – Mystic Outdoor Art Festival award winners announced – Google Alerts

Mystic — The Greater Mystic Chamber of Commerce has announced the winners of the 62nd annual Mystic Outdoor Art Festival, which is taking place this weekend.

The awards were juried and winners will be honored during a breakfast at 8 a.m. Sunday at the Mystic Museum of Art, which is sponsoring the meal along with Sift Bake Shop, Mystic Depot Roasters, and Grass & Bone.

The winners are as follows:

  • Best in Show, presented by the Arling family: Naomi Centeno
  • Green Award, presented by Mystic Aquarium: Leon Ruiz
  • Robert Brackman Award for spirit of Mystic, presented by Hilton Mystic: Eric Urquhart
  • Beonne Beronda Award for best work by a new artist, presented by Grover Insurance: David Poppie
  • Marion Tetlow Award for best work by a local artist, presented by Block, Janney, & Sisley: Betsy Barry
  • Milton Baline Award, or Founder’s Award, presented by Mohegan Sun: Kevin Duval
  • Del-Bouree Bach Working Artist Award for artist who works every day at his or her craft, presented by Del-Bouree Bach: David Sieczkiewicz
  • Emerging Student Artist Award, presented by Greater Mystic Chamber Foundation: Sarah Woodward

There were also award categories for different media. Winners are:

  • Best of Oil Paintings, presented by Abbott’s Lobster in the Rough: Jon Smith
  • Best of Acrylics, presented by Costello’s Clam Shack: Katie Fogg
  • Best of Mixed Media, presented by the chamber: Richard Trincere
  • Best of Illustration/Graphics, presented by R & B Apparel Plus: Paul Sellon
  • Best of Pastels, presented by the chamber: Robin Frisella
  • Best of Photography, presented by Pochal & Pochal Law: Gary Love
  • Best of Sculpture, presented by Foxwoods: Roger DiTarando
  • Best of Watercolors, presented by EG Home: Greg Stones

Additional awards, sponsored by the Katherine Forest Crafts Foundation, were granted for craftspeople working with different materials, including pottery, textiles, glass and more. Those winners are:

  • Teddy Goberis Award for Excellence in Ceramics: John Cheer
  • Louise Forest Gibson Prize: Jon Lee
  • Mabel…

Read the full article at